Uber-Newbie here

What's on your mind? Anything generic goes here.

Uber-Newbie here

Postby mpstan on Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:57 pm

My wife and I are about 5 years from retiring and, after going 10 years without a boat, started discussing getting into boating again now that we are empty nesters. I never thought I'd own another boat; I was always busy working and feeling guilty when I wasn't out on the water on available weekends as continued to make payments. Selling my 22' Glastron was a relief, but funny things happen when you approach 60 and you start thinking about yourselves more and kids less. The thought of exploring the BC coast is very appealing to both of us and we are excited about the prospect of getting a boat.

We live near Bellingham WA, and it didn't take us long to run into Ranger Tugs, which I'd not heard of a week ago. I'm pretty sure we'll end up getting one. I have to undertake some training, and I'll have to try some out; predictably we are trying to get a sense of the size of boat we'll be happy with. We cannot afford a new 31' boat but love how it looks; I'm afraid we'll find a new 25' a little confining but that's probably closer to our budget. Not opposed to the used market. Not sure how buying newer and putting in a Charter would work; don't see much discussion on that here. We'd love to salmon fish, explore Desolation Sound, maybe even explore further North when I am qualified to do so. Until we retire, we might have a 7-10 day cruise window each year, and weekends.

I know picking the boat length is personal, and we plan to charter different ones to see what we think. I'm hoping to catch other's life stories of how they tackled this problem and what they decided; their regrets, and any direct advice.

Great looking through this forum; thank you
mpstan

City: Lynden
State/Province: WA

Re: Uber-Newbie here

Postby jagizzi on Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:07 pm