New Ranger 25 Owner - Sacramento Delta

What's on your mind? Anything generic goes here.

New Ranger 25 Owner - Sacramento Delta

Postby donbradford on Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:53 pm

Greetings fellow Tugnuts,

I'm the new owner of a 2008 Ranger 25 classic starting my exploration of the Sacramento Delta. Will be taking delivery of the Avery out of Isleton next week when she'll become the Delta Rover out of Lodi. I'm new to trawlers and inland water ways after spending 20 years sailing the SF Bay and coast between Santa Cruz and Pillar Point. Has any one else made the transition from coastal wind chaser to inland cruiser and have any advice or recommendations? My first experiences on the Ranger 25 were awesome -- like driving a sports car versus driving a bus (sorry Hunter...)

I'm also considering a stowable bimini -- up when cruising with the wife, down when fishing with my buddies. I've seen some photos online of bimini's the secure to the cabin roof rails and fishing rod holders on the stern and wonder if any one has owned or explored these?

All the best,
Don Bradford
-don
donbradford@outlook.com
Delta Rover
donbradford

City: Lodi
State/Province: CA
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-25 Classic
Vessel Name: Delta Rover

Re: New Ranger 25 Owner - Sacramento Delta

Postby TexasEye on Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:29 pm

Welcome Aboard,

I have a 2008 RT-25 with Yanmar 110hp. I'm also relatively new to "Pocket Trawlers". Love her so far. Damn she's slow!!! But, she is safe, economical, comfortable and stands out like a Red Head at the Bar...I strongly recommend you master all maneuvers with no thrusters... Haven't had a failure but I have had trashy slips backing in where thruster use may have damaged the impeller or unit. I always assume I can't use thrusters.