prop shaft seal

What's on your mind? Anything generic goes here.

prop shaft seal

Postby Jon on Sun Aug 24, 2014 9:27 am

My prop shaft seal drips even when the boat is not running. Is that normal? Should it be replaced or adjusted. 2011 R-29 with 170 hours.
Thanks,

Jon
Jon

City: Newhall
State/Province: CA
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-29 Classic

prop shaft seal

Postby dialtone on Sun Aug 24, 2014 9:56 am

I'm not an expert in this area: but yes. They do drip. However it should be just a drop every once in a while. Someone knowledgable in this area will chime in. Sometimes you can tighten but I've been told you DO WANT them to drip very slowly. I would say a drip every few seconds is too often but maybe a drip every 5-10 minutes is fine. Something to do with keeping the seal wet or something like that.
---
/// 2013 Build Year, 2014 Model Year, Cutwater 30 Sedan, Southern California ///
---
dialtone

City: Irvine
Non-Ranger Model: CW30 Sedan

Re: prop shaft seal

Postby The Masons on Sun Aug 24, 2014 10:15 am

Yes, it is important that the dripping is not stopped completely as the water which comes up the stern tube lubricates the packing material in the stuffing box and reduces the inherent drag and wear on the prop shaft. A simple snugging of the locking nut should suffice. Here are generic instructions:

SHAFT PACKING GLAND (STUFFINGBOX):

A properly adjusted shaft packing gland should drip slightly (from 1 to 2 drops per minute) with the engine off. Too loose an adjustment will allow too much water in the bilge and engine operation will spray water from the shaft. Too tight an adjustment will rob the engine of power, and the lack of water lubrication in the packing gland can generate enough heat to damage the gland and/or score the propeller shaft.

ADJUSTMENT:

1. Hold the packing nut with one wrench, use a second wrench to loosen the lock nut. Turn the lock nut far enough to keep it from interfering with the next adjustment (2 or 3 turns.).