Electric Motor for Dinghy

What's on your mind? Anything generic goes here.

Electric Motor for Dinghy

Postby olygirl on Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:59 am

I am new to the world of electric motors and need some help. Looking for an electric motor with an integral battery as I am trying to avoid using an additional battery that I will have to haul in and out of the dinghy. Have looked at the Torqeedo, however, am wondering if there is a less expensive alternative...? Any an all suggestions will be appreciated! Thanks!
olygirl

City: Bellingham
State/Province: WA
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-23
Vessel Name: Cool Mint

Re: Electric Motor for Dinghy

Postby knotflying on Tue Jul 11, 2017 11:30 am

Torqeedo is the only one I know of with the built in battery.
“What we call reality is merely an ILLUSION we create for learning and enjoyment….”
knotflying

City: Charlestown
State/Province: RI
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-27
Non-Ranger Model: http://illusionsmikeandjess.blogspot.com/
Vessel Name: (2011) Illusions

Postby Les Blackwell on Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:22 pm

I recently did the research that you are probably doing right now--seeking a light weight quiet outboard motor. Not much to choose from in the electrical field. I saw an electric outboard at the Seattle Boat show made locally but the battery was separate and had to be in the dinghy. The Torqeedo was the only one I found with the battery integral to the unit. Being in my mid eighties I was also looking for less weight and the three pieces of the Torqeedo were acceptable to me.

I did buy the Torqeedo 1003 from West Machine and it was on sale at about $200 off. But I was presently surprised when I got in the mail about $220 WM certificates I could use for more gear. Also, either West Marine or the Torqeedo company sent me a spare parts kit for free. But I agree with you it is an expensive outboard.