Navigation Backup

Have a tech question or tidbit you wish to share with the other Ranger Tug owners? Post it here.

Navigation Backup

Postby ethanbarnett on Mon Jan 07, 2019 7:51 am

Using my Surface Pro 4 as a secondary navigation tool has proved to be too limiting. So I am now resolved to purchase an Apple product. Okay Apple folks out there, which Ipad and why?

Thanks.

For those in the Marathon area or coming to the Marathon area soon we will be in Faro Blanco in a week or so.

PS. Roll Tide
Ethan and Tammi Barnett on Liberty
ethanbarnett

City: Clearwater
State/Province: FL
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-29 S
Vessel Name: LIBERTY

Re: Navigation Backup

Postby Cutwater28GG on Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:17 am

love to understand what didnt work with the surface?
Gavin - 2012 Cutwater 28
Cutwater28GG

City: seattle
State/Province: WA
Ranger/Cutwater Model: C-28
Non-Ranger Model: Cutwater 28
Vessel Name: Living The Dream

Postby ethanbarnett on Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:31 am

As I am not tech savvy in any way and want to simply use this tool to interact with Navionics and Active Capt simply, which from my limited knowledge and experience is not possible. What am I missing? I can spend a few bucks on a new Ipad thingy and still have my Surface Pro 4 for other things, and now have simple access to very popular apps.
Ethan and Tammi Barnett on Liberty
ethanbarnett

City: Clearwater
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-29 S
Vessel Name: LIBERTY

Postby mjq1987 on Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:55 am

I believe Navionics had a Windows 10 app several years ago but discontinued it. Not sure if the Garmin/Navionics integration and upcoming charting changes will change that, but a call to Garmin customer service may provide some additional info.