Radar

Have a tech question or tidbit you wish to share with the other Ranger Tug owners? Post it here.

Radar

Postby CaspersCruiser on Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:00 am

I'm new to using radar on a boat and I'm trying to learn its utility. I have nearly three decades of using weather radar on airplanes so I'm familiar with radar general principles and the fact that using radar well involves equal measures of science and experience plus a pinch of art. I'm using the radar on the Ohio River at the moment, but I will be making a cruise in Green Bay/Door County in August to "get my feet wet" in Great Lakes cruising. I intend to use it on a Great Loop voyage in sections starting as early as this fall.

First question: If I leave the gain in AUTO, about the only vessels I see on the river are large towboats with barges. If I turn the gain up to 90%, then I see just about every vessel on the water. Is this normal or is there an issue with the antenna or radome or perhaps the radar transmitter output power?

Second question: If I'm cruising on the Tenn-Tom this fall, I will encounter fog. Is it reasonable to use it in such conditions? My gut says no, especially given my low radar experience level.

Third question: What utilities do you use most often or find most useful?
CaspersCruiser

City: Goshen
State/Province: KY
Ranger/Cutwater Model: R-27
Non-Ranger Model: 2002 Four Winns Funship 214, 1984 Sea Ray 210CC

Re: Radar

Postby Dale777 on Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:53 am

Casperscruiser,

In reference to your "Second Question" about using or not using radar, I believe the following navigation rule applies: